The Academy of Sun

The Academy of Sun are a melodic, alternative pop outfit from Brighton, UK, led by composer Nick Hudson.


Nick spent some of his youth in Louth, Lincolnshire, where he rubbed shoulders with musical legend, Robert Wyatt and local icon, Mark Merrifield.



Nick Hudson’s psychedelic, gnostic post-punk juggernaut has been active in various incarnations since 2012. TAOS has collaborated with Massive Attack’s Shara Nelson, members of NYC’s Kayo Dot, David Tibet of Current 93, Asva, Matthew Seligman (Bowie, Tori Amos, Morrissey) and performed in a medieval castle in Italy, a boat on The Thames, an abandoned railway carriage in Offenbach, various churches, theatres, London College of Fashion…



Nick, solo, in 2015 played at legendary NYC venue The Stone and in 2016 embarked on a two month tour of Europe and The Middle East with Toby Driver and Keith Abrams from Kayo Dot. Currently a four piece, in November 2017, The Academy Of Sun released Codex Novena’, a hypnotic, colossal opus that found its way onto both the Dangerous Minds and Sweeping The Nation end-of-year lists.


LATEST Releases:

On 22 November, 2019, TAOS released their latest single, “Rose Devoid of Form”. Available via Bandcamp. 


More recently, the band released their album “The Quiet Earth” which received the follwing comment from Robert Wyatt:


“in my ‘pinion it’s very good – a very interesting change from the kindv music i usually listen to” (Robert Wyatt).





L to R


Kianna Blue (bass, synth)


Guy Brice (guitars)



Nick Hudson (piano, synths, vocals)



Ash Babb (drums)





Nick Hudson